Jews who Have Received the Nobel Prize

By Benjamin Harrow

American Jewish Committee (AJC), Jewish Publication Society (JPS), 1924

Out of a total of 107 Nobel Prize winners from 1901 to 1922, nine were Jewish. The author writes that the award of a Nobel Prize has come to be regarded as the greatest distinction that can be conferred on a scholar. As such, this article provides biographical sketches of the nine men who received the Nobel Prize in physics, chemistry, medicine and for peace. They are: Albert Abraham Michelson, Gabriel Lippmann, and Albert Einstein, for physics; Otto Wallach, Richard Willstatter, and Fritz Haber for chemistry; Paul Ehrlich, for medicine; and T.M.C. Asser and A.H. Fried for peace.

Topic: Science, Higher Education, Scholarship, Academic Research

Name of Publication: American Jewish Year Book

Volume/Issue: Vol. 25

Page Number(s): 195-203

Preview: Download

It appears you do not have a PDF plugin installed for this browser. To be able to preview the PDF, please install a PDF reader such as Adobe Reader.

Genre: Article

Language: English

Copyright Holder: Publisher

Copyright Information: Download for personal use, freely distribute link

Bibliographic Information:
Harrow, Benjamin. Jews who Have Received the Nobel Prize. American Jewish Year Book. American Jewish Committee (AJC),Jewish Publication Society (JPS). 1924: 195-203.


» View Publication
(PDF, 128 Kb)

Bookmark and Share